2012: The year that was

2012 was my blogger year as I started on my journey as a travel blogger slash backpacker slash beach bum slash happy camper slash photographer wannabe. I even haven’t reach my first month of tenure in Cebu and I was already on the road. I have traveled the Visayas region and was able to reach places like Cebu, Siquijor, Negros and Guimaras. For a recap, here are the places that I have been to and the things that I were up to this 2012.

                 January: Sinulog, Crown Regency and Southern Cebu. 

Pit Senyor!
Pit Senyor!

I partied with all the Cebuanos at the heart of the city as they celebrate one of the grandest festival in the Philippines – Sinulog.  I was also able to conquer my fear of heights at Crown Regency’s Edge Coaster and Sky Walk. It was a fun experience shared with a friend but unfortunately, our photos on my camera were corrupted.

Tuki or much commonly known as whalesharks
Tuki or much commonly known as whale sharks

And the highlight of my January backpacking session, my trip to the South of Cebu with my office mates who turned to be my friends. Whale shark interaction, Sumilon Island, El Cuartel, and Boljoon for less than 1500 all in.

                                              March: Going back to Bantayan.

bumming and photo bombing
bumming and photo bombing

It was my first time to travel with only having guys around and it turned out to be much more cooler. I was the youngest so I was the center of pranks, they made me their bait and they even got me drunk.

             May: First time travel planner all for the sake of cliff jumping. 

snorkeling at the Coral Garden
snorkeling at the Coral Garden

Yes, I was the mastermind. It was me who dragged my friends to go to Malapascua for the sake of trying how it is to cliff jump. And it was me who was too chicken to try it when I was already there on the edge. But mind you, Kenny did jump.

 June: Hidden Gem, Revisiting Dumaguete and Siquijor Demystified.

one two trek
one two trek

The rainy season can’t stop my itchy soles and my quest on surpassing the trail to Mt. Kan-irag. This was my preparation before hitting Osmena Peak and whew what a journey it has been.

le sisters at the Boulevard
at the Boulevard with my siblings

June is also the month where my first short solo travel from Cebu City to Dumaguete took place. I journeyed my way alone but thanks goodness to the kindness of people who was there to entertain me with my queries. I was able to arrive at Dumaguete safe and sound.

sunrise at Siquijor
sunrise at Siquijor

Siquijor will always be my favorite, and I was lucky enough to share its beauty with my siblings. It was really worth the trip.

                          July: Osmena for real plus side trip to Kawasan. 

good heavens, I'm on the top of the world!
good heavens, I’m on the top of the world!

I have waited for this moment, Osmena! I have been training myself for months for you. Being at the top was surreal, it has been a dream once, but it happened. I was there!

sweet Jesus, finally the third level!
sweet Jesus, finally the third level!

Traversing here [at Kawasan] from Osmena, is not a joke. It is no joke having to trek for seven hours. SEVEN HOURS. Seven f*$%^&(% hours! But when we got there, it was such a reward.

                                          August: From sadness to happiness. 

at Museo De Guimaras
at Museo De Guimaras

It was such a relief to be able to do some soul searching at Guimaras. The experience I had in there together with my best friends, was one for the books. My foot had its first encounter with a sea urchin, and it was my first time to see two rainbows at a time. My search for happiness ended, when Guimaras helped me see myself.

at Perry Tods
at Perry Tods

After our 2 days and 1 night stay at Guimaras, we went to have some side trip slash food trip in Iloilo. Iloilo is famous for its Batchoy, siopao and Perry Tod’s big burgers aside from its century-old churches.

                                              October: Manila! Manila!

at Seaside, Mall of Asia
at Seaside, Mall of Asia

With just a truckload of desire and my want to travel the region of Luzon, I risked what I had back home. Being a brave young man, I decided to travel Manila alone with only a backpack and a month-worth of savings.

low quality phone shot at the event
low quality phone shot at the event

I get to go to places that I am not familiar with, and I was able to attend to events and meet travel bloggers alike. I attended Travel Massive hence, my first event here in the Metro and even if I was alone I had fun.

                                         November: Bye for now, PHL360

I dragged my friend Val to join me. Val and Ate Chyng.
I dragged my friend Val to join me. Val and Ate Chyng.

The month I bade goodbye to my favorite travel web series. The only consolation is I was able to attend the finale party and meet the cast and crew. I was also able to know travel bloggers like Ate Endette, Ate Kaiye and Ate Natz. From there, we became instant Twitter buddies.

                                 December: Tis the season for some parties!

Globe CM's Christmas Party at Edsa Shangri La
Globe CM’s Christmas Party at Edsa Shangri La

It was one Rockeoke night with my Globe family. I may not have my real family around but having them was somewhat enough to ease my homesickness. Edsa Shangri La is now one of my favorite hotels here in the Philippines.

waiting in line for the Bumper Cars
waiting in line for the Bumper Cars

This party was some sort of mandatory, if not for this I could have gone to Travel Massive 2. But anyway, I had fun and the 4oophp ride all you can fee was so worth it. I was able to ride the Cyclone Loop and the famous Star Frisbee.

                                                           cheers for 2013 

This 2013, I aim to conquer Luzon and will take this dream of mine to even bigger heights. I will process my passport and hopefully I can have my first international travel. I don’t want to make plans by now and just let the year of the water snake surprise me. I will let things unfold the natural way. I want others to be a part of this journey. Together, I know we can all make our dreams happen.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. chyngreyes.com says:

    yay, very fulfilling year of travel. nice. im going to siquijor and dumaguete this januray too. will check out your post about those.

    1. Kenneth says:

      Thanks for 2012 I was able to know travel bloggers like you Ate Chyng. Siquijor is a must-see place especially its beaches. Good luck and God bless. Hope I can travel with you this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

