2013 Mementos – Some sort of a year ender

When I look back at the year 2013, it is not the places that I went to, not the photos I took, not how far I have gone that made it worth while – it was those people who inspired me and whom I have inspired in one way or another that kept me going. Quoting Mr. Tim Cahill, “A journey is best measured in friends rather than miles.” I have learned a lot from them, from the experience of going there, getting there and being there. And for my year-ender, I dedicate this to you guys.

they are the people that I can get crazy with to ironically keep me sane
to you whom I can get crazy with to ironically keep me sane

To my Kuya and Ate in Travel Blogopshere aka The Binondo / Ambisyosa Group

thanks for the friendship
thanks for the friendship, travel tips and whatnots

I have said it before but I will say it again, truly the best way to learn is to surround yourself with people that are smarter and more experienced than you are. We were once strangers, but thanks to Twitter and our common denominator – the love for travel, we were able to create a friendship that is one of a kind. Cheers to more travels, Te Endette and Kaiye, Natz, Gelai, Jherson, Kat, Claire, Kuya Dom, Ate Chyng, Pao and RJ.

Hashtag: Binondo Food Trip | Loreland Farm Resort: A Review | Orion Hotel: A Review | Things to do in Tutuban | Las Pinas’ Gem: Bamboo Organ

To my first trek buddy, Javee or JV or whatever you want to call him

here's to more awesome jump shots
here’s to more awesome jump shots

I’m happy to see how far you have gone when it comes to mountaineering, and I’m proud that I was part of that journey. Wish you more jump shots to come and more mountains to conquer!

Wow for Mt. Batulao | Travel Guide to Mt. BatulaoMt. Gulugod Baboy | Sombrero Island Side Trip |  Dream Climb: Mt. Pulag

To my food trip buddy whose laugh is contagious, Val pero may malay, Valerie but not Concepcion

at Lucky Chinatown Mall (c) Val
at Lucky Chinatown Mall right after the Binondo Food Trip (c) Val

Let me start this by saying that I am still sorry for what I have done with the memory card. Anyway, everyone from the Binondo and Borawan Group misses you. And, thank you for being that friend whom I can invite anytime I feel like going on a trip. See you in Batanes, and let us do more food spotting and cray cray shits.

Hashtag: Binondo Food Trip | Borawan vs. Dampalitan vs. Puting Buhangin

To those who have been part of Bloggers Climb 1 and 2

Bloggers Climb 1 at Mt. Batulao (c) Janeth
Bloggers Climb 1 at Mt. Batulao (c) Janeth
Bloggers Climb 2 at Mt. Gulugod Baboy
Bloggers Climb 2 at Mt. Gulugod Baboy

Shout out goes to Angel who is the brain child of this and to those who have helped and made both events a success. I can’t honestly name you all since I almost forgot the others, so pardon me.

Wow for Mt. Batulao  | Travel Guide to Mt. Batulao | Mt. Gulugod Baboy | Sombrero Island Side Trip | Travel Guide to Mt. Gulugod Baboy

To my drunken buddies at MNL Hostel, thetwobrokegirls and our foreign friends

those nights (c) MNL Boutique Hostel
those nights (c) MNL Boutique Hostel

I was not supposed to be there, but I was there and I’m more than glad that I decide to come over. Inuman kanto-style with MNL guests. At first there were just two bottles, then came two more. At first, it was just the three of us, then there us all.

MNL Boutique Hostel – My First Hostel Experience

To my Mt. Arayat and Mt. Pulag trek mates aka Team Ganado sa kain at sa akyat

Team Ganado at Mt. Arayat and Mt. Pulag
Team Ganado at Mt. Arayat and Mt. Pulag

It all began with us barely knowing each other and making it alive  through the wilderness of Mt. Arayat. Now, we have made a camaraderie that conquered the coldness of Mt. Pulag and a day of being a vegetarian. To our Chinese friends, you guys are a proof of making things happen regardless of age. To #TeamBodyHeat, I miss you big time. To Kuya Gerald, Kuya Ry and Sensei- San, thank you for this experience and for being an inspiration on how to be a responsible mountaineer.

Up, up and away – 18th Hot Air Balloon Fiesta | Mt. Arayat Traverse | Travel Guide to Mt. Arayat | Dream Climb: Mt. Pulag

To the group who made me a travel planner kuno, my Globe co-workers before

hoping for more trips like this
hoping for more trips like this

What we wanted was fun, so what we got was a long road trip to Zambales, the beach, a campfire and lotsa marshmallows. To date, that was one of the best camping I have had in my life.

Camping, more fun in Anawangin

To the community of Liwliwa, the surfers and the locals, to surfer babes, Natz, Gene, Rigel, Val and Ekki

an afternoon surfing seesh at Liwa (c) Natz
an afternoon surfing seesh at Liwa (c) Natz

Cheers to more drunken nights by the beach. Yes, what happens in Liwa stays in Liwa. But honestly guys, I couldn’t thank you that much for making my 22 a blast. Thank you as well for joining us Pam and Jeremy.

Super stoked at 22 – Surfing in Liwliwa | Travel Guide to Zambales

To my Teva trail run buddies, Kuya Dom, Niqui and Jovial Wanderer

Congratulations again! Kuya Dom, thank you for this and I was able to tick this off of my bucket list. But swear, it may took me a year to sign up for any run like this again.

Moves like Jogger: My Teva Trail Run Experience

To my Soul Surf temporary guardians, Matiks and gf

Thank you for the Monster-infused Tanduay mix that made me drunk and sleep at a middle of a party. No pun intended, I’m really thankful for it for I had a good time. Moreover, I am thankful for being our soul surf buddies and for joining me in my search for Pindangan Ruins under the scorching heat of the sun.

Soulsurf 2013 | Things to do in La Union

To Team Borawan and Dampalitan which is now becoming #TeamBorawanBagets and #TeamBorawanTanders

jumpshot ba kamo? (c) Nil
jumpshot ba kamo? (c) Nil

The trip we had was more than epic. From our failed adobo to the inuman seesh to cliff jumping and to the volleyball game. And who will forget, LaMina, LanCel, MarYel, MannyMar, Nilai among the love teams that sprung out of that trip? It all made us suffer from a major hangover that lasted for more than 2 weeks.

Borawan vs. Dampalitan vs. Puting Buhangin | Travel Guide to Borawan

To those that I got to share some pizza and pasta with, to Team Christmas dinner with travel bloggers and friends 

Christmas dinner at A Venetto Pizzeria (c) Claire
Christmas dinner at A Venetto Pizzeria (c) Claire

It was a pleasure meeting for the first time, Mai of Budget Biyahera, Eph of Selfless Travels, Doc Gelo of docgelo.com, and Atty. of Lakwatserong Tsinelas and it was nice meeting again Claire, Jherson, Gelai, Nil, Lana, Ate Bing, Kuya Jun, Sir Librero, Mina, Paula, Dennis and JV. To more pizza and pasta guys!

To sponsors “kuno” and to great staycations and food taste test

To Orion and Tutuban Property, especially to Sir Jay and Ms. Anna as well as to the staff. To MNL Boutique Hostel crew. To Qoola, Yogurt + Fruit and the food bloggers. To Loreland Farm Resort, Mr. Ramon Farinas and family + the Luljetta’s Spa crew. To Bayview Park Hotel Manila. To Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila and to Ms. Jane. Thank you!

Orion Hotel: A Review | Things to do in Tutuban | MNL Boutique Hostel: My First Hostel Experience | Qoola: Yogurt + Fruit, A Review | Loreland Farm Resort, A Review | Again?! Staycation at Bayview Park Manila | Magnifique Stay at Sofitel Manila | Flavors of the World – Spiral Manila Experience

To my adopted brothers slash housemates, Danyel, Eugene, Hancel, RJ and Marck. 

Star City getaway
Star City getaway

It’s good to know that you have enjoyed your first trip with me at Borawan. I know at first, you were all bored and was hesitant to strike a conversation with the others but good thing is you were able to make friends with my friends. And to our Star City getaway, my conscience is clear, I was not the one who organized that. LOL

Borawan vs. Dampalitan vs. Puting Buhangin | Travel Guide to Borawan

Lastly, how could I forget those who taught me to follow this dream, my parents and my family

Ma, Pa, I know it was a dick move for me to quit my job as an Engineer just because I don’t love what I’m doing. I know I have given you with no choice when I bought a one way ticket to Manila without you even knowing. I understand how hard it is to let go of your only son and I want to thank you for understanding my decisions as well. I may now be a grown up, but I am still your hard-headed middle child. I may be far from you guys, but always know that I am just a call away.

Now, it has been more than a year and I tell you, traveling made me a better person. You guys are still my inspiration and yes, next year, I’ll make it up to you.

Snapshots: My Masskara 2013 Experience | Masskara 2013 Streetdance Competition

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

They are all my mementos – the living proof of how worth it my 2013 was and my journey has been so far. You too can go a long way but remember that this is not about where you have been to, but more of whom you have shared it with.

Happy Holidays!

MrBratpacker

blogcarnival

This post is my entry to Pinoy Travel Bloggers’ Blog Carnival for December 2013, with the theme “The Pinoy Travel Bloggers Closing the Curtains on 2013: Love, Learn and Living” hosted by Brenna Bustamante of The Philippine Travelogue.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Aba, ang dami ko palang appearance sa post na ito! hehe

    Congrats, Ken. Ang dami mong napuntahan at nakilala this year. I-level up na yan this 2014. 😉

    Happy New Year!

    1. Kenneth says:

      Thanks Kat! Buti na lang walang TF. lol. Happy New Year sa ‘yo at sa family mo. Sana mas marami pang makilala at mapuntahan this 2014.

  2. Winner talaga ang MNL experience!

    Cheers to more travels Ken! See you soon!

    1. Kenneth says:

      Right! Nakakamiss din yung ganung setup, drinking with strangers turned friends.

      Yes, to more travels!

  3. thelighttraveler says:

    Ayos! *thumbs up*

    Kitakits, Kenneth! =) Marami pang adventure na magaganap ngayong 2014!

    1. Kenneth says:

      For more adventure on the road! 🙂

  4. Paula O says:

    Glad to be part of your 2013 too! ayos! See you soon Kenneth!

    1. Kenneth says:

      It is my pleasure to meet you all. 🙂

  5. Manong Unyol says:

    aha maraming salamt bro 🙂 gawin nating maging masagana ang 2014 marami pa tayong pagsasamhan mapa beach or mapa bundok man…. Godbless

    1. Kenneth says:

      ischedule na ang anniversary climb ng Bloggers Climb 1! Falls naman tayo Sir, pero sana masched siya beforehand. God bless dn Manong Unyol!

  6. Travel is not just about places tlga, its also about the people right? That’s what this year ender is all about 😉

    1. Kenneth says:

      Yes, people who inspired you, who helped you. People who broke your heart (Kuya Jherson, ka relate ka? lol). made you fall in love. Friends you met along the road . Everyone who became a part of your 2013. :p

Leave a Reply

