What 2014 has taught me

How many things in your life that you wanted that you didn’t get and you survived? The question I have asked myself upon pondering on what had happened with my life this year. 2014 surely took me to many turns and the first half was nothing but pure bliss and of crossing things off of my bucket list. While the other half brought me to a place where it didn’t feel like it was going to happen and it made me feeling pretty down on myself.

MrBratpacer Yearender

You guys know how much I have fallen in love with traveling. And not in a hyperbolic, “Oh, I love to travel!” sense but in a legitimate, deeply felt, heartache-y, head over heels, totally in-love sense. This year, you have seen me conquer 5 mountains (Mt. Manabu, Beautiful Daguldol, Pico De Loro, Mt. Manalmon, Mt. Maculot), you have fallen in love with Batanes with me, you were there when I met Tatay Oca whom I consider a hero and an inspiration, together, we braved the rides at Sandbox and risked our lives at the rockies of Norzagaray, we have got our tan at Calaguas and Patar, you helped me with my Boracay challenge, had a roadtrip to Baguio and Tagaytay, tried archery at Kodanda and partied with me during Masskara Festival.

This 2014, I have had a lot of No’s that my fingers and toes can no longer help me with the counting. I also have lost count on times that I have failed myself, and in the process lost who I was in my quest of becoming what others want me to be. Personal, family and work problems were there almost every month that it made me slow down and examine my definition of success. I thought running away would be the best answer but no, it even made the matters worst. It’s no new to you that I have got my visa denied and that time I was on my lowest. I badly wanted to go to France that it pains me every time I think about it. I got depressed and I have got no one to turn to. But I realized that not even that failure, that sadness, and despair can hold me back. I was able to endure everything and I am thankful to everyone for you have shown to me that you all always got my back. You guys have never failed to brighten up my day during my darkest moments. The little chitchats we have had, those little appreciation I have got from you, and the support, those are the things that fueled me to continue sharing my passion. I could not thank you enough but I hope that dedicating this year-ender to you guys will do justice.

“To strangers whom I have had shared conversations with, those whom I have met and became my friends, those who have shown me that little words of encouragement can do wonder, I want you to know that I appreciate all the things that you have done.”

One of the highlights of my life this year is my Batanes trip, through it and the online writing contest I have joined, I was finally able to put in words what my heart wanted to say. My sister’s comment telling me “Now I understand that being able to travel is not just a hobby for you but certainly a devotion. Whatever makes you happy , makes us happy also,” always put tears of joy in my eyes.

You know how I brag about me getting what I want when it comes to traveling, but 2014 have proven me wrong. I have come to learn that when I want something, I should work hard for it. There will be times that the answer is just a “No” and that I should learn a thing or two about timing and waiting. We can’t always have what we want, moreover, we can’t have something that we want in an instant. Life works just like that but it doesn’t mean that you will have to stop.  Sharing to you the advise I have got from Nhap, ”

May kanya kanya tayong pace of success, meron sobrang bagal, may katamtaman at meron namang sobrang bilis, human nature minsan naikukumpara natin ang ating sarili sa ibang tao, at ang kadalasang linya natin “bakit sila ganito, bakit sila ganyan, bakit ako ganito. Kung ngayon hindi naaayon sa kagustuhan mo ang takbo nang iyong buhay, it’s alright, just keep moving.

So now, I ask you this, how many things in your life that you wanted that you didn’t get and you survived? A lot, right? And 2014 taught me to just keep going.

Visit Philippines Year

Next year, aside from being more adventurous which is on top of my Resolution / bucket list, here are the other things I wish to do:

2. Visit new provinces (Ilocos, Palawan, Davao, Aurora to name what’s on top of my list)

3. Set foot in Mindanao

4. Own a pet

5. Travel abroad

6. Climb more mountains (Tarak, Pinatubo, Makiling, Daraitan, Tapulao)

7. Career growth / career change

8. Enroll myself in a gym or boxing class

9. Attend a festival

10. Travel with my family

11. Try scuba diving

12. Spend the holidays at home

13. Love life (hopefully lol)

14. Have more time with my blog

15. Inspire more people

I am armed with ambition and I will dream until I can’t dream no more. 2015 is no doubt going to be a year of tough choices and when you’re having a rough time deciding, I want you to choose the thing that will make you happy 🙂

Cheers!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. thelighttraveler says:

    I feel you. =( But yes, there will be another chance for France.

    I wish all the best for you on your bucket list, especially #13 LOL.

    1. Kenneth says:

      Thanks Ate Claire! Happy New Year!

      Talagang sa #13 lahat may comment. Nakakapressure tuloy lol jk

Leave a Reply

